Problems connecting OS6560-P24X4 with OS6850-P24

Post Reply
gear0
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 29 Oct 2019 04:00

Problems connecting OS6560-P24X4 with OS6850-P24

Post by gear0 »

Hi all,

I'm facing a problem connecting a OS6850-P24 with a OS6560-P24X4 via fiber.
Here is my setup:

OS6850-P24 Port 1/24 <- Fiber -> OS6560-P24X4 1/1/25

When checking the ports on the switches is see port 1/1/25 up and port 1/24 down.

OS6850-P24 is running AOS 6.4.4.743.R01
OS6560-P24X4 is running AOS 8.5.196.R04 (upgrading the switch to 8.6.189.R02 didn't change anything)
On OS6850-P24 port 1/24 is set to "PREFFERED-FIBER"
The switches both have a factory default configuration.

Connecting two OS6850-P24 over fiber works.
Also connecting the OS6560-P24X4 to a OS6450-P10 (running 6.7.1.108.R04) also works.

Any hints why connecting OS6850-P24 with OS6560-P24X4 doesn't work?
If I can you provide more infos, let me know.

Thanks in advance
gear0
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1487
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Problems connecting OS6560-P24X4 with OS6850-P24

Post by silvio »

Do you use 1Gig-SFP at both sides? show module long (at R6 switch), show transceiver (at R8 switch).
regards
Silvio
gear0
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 29 Oct 2019 04:00

Re: Problems connecting OS6560-P24X4 with OS6850-P24

Post by gear0 »

Hi,

yes I have used a 1Gig-SFP on both sides. Actually I used two 1Gig-SFP with which I successfully connected two OS6850-P24 together.
Seems to be an issue with AOS 8.5.196.R04 and AOS 8.6.189.R02 in combination with AOS 6.4.4.743.R01.
After loading AOS 8.6.299.R01 on the OS6560-P24X4 the connection works without any hassle.
Anyway thanks again for your help.

regards
gear0
Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6560”