Not able to send and receive FAX on SIP PSTN Trunks

Post Reply
User avatar
mustafa.ahmad
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: 27 May 2010 03:23

Not able to send and receive FAX on SIP PSTN Trunks

Post by mustafa.ahmad » 17 Jul 2018 11:29

Hi,

We have an OXE system on R10.1

There are SIP trunks for DID/DOD and they are working fine. The issue is with the FAX . They have connected SIP to Analog convertor of Planet company for connectivity with FAX machines, as the setup is all IP phones.

it was working fine till they had network outage, and the servers were out of LAN network. After resumption of network , the fax machines are not able to send and receive faxes.

Thanks is advance.

User avatar
mustafa.ahmad
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: 27 May 2010 03:23

Re: Not able to send and receive FAX on SIP PSTN Trunks

Post by mustafa.ahmad » 17 Jul 2018 11:33

when we tried to send the faxes internally from extension to extension, it is working fine.

But outside the OXE to PSTN , it is not and the PSTN service provider is saying that the compression type is incorrect. it should be G711, which is not available in R10.1 . But the FAX machines were working perfectly before the outage.

User avatar
cavagnaro
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 6938
Joined: 14 Sep 2005 19:45
Location: Brasil, Porto Alegre
Contact:

Re: Not able to send and receive FAX on SIP PSTN Trunks

Post by cavagnaro » 17 Jul 2018 12:42

? It is not available? Uh?

Enviado de meu E6633 usando o Tapatalk

Ignorance is not the problem, the problem is the one who doesn't want to learn

OTUC/ICS ACFE/ACSE R3.0/4.0/5.0/6.0
Certified Genesys CIV 8.5
Certified Genesys Troubleshooting 8.5
Certified Genesys BEP 8.x
Genesys Developer

User avatar
alex
Senior Member
Posts: 1326
Joined: 06 Jul 2004 07:27
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Not able to send and receive FAX on SIP PSTN Trunks

Post by alex » 17 Jul 2018 15:45

mustafa.ahmad wrote:
17 Jul 2018 11:33
it should be G711, which is not available in R10.1 .
This statement already indexed by many search engines and this message is not true.
Looks like a mistype or something.
G.711 compression is ALWAYS available as default.
We should keep this board as the one and only expert's board on ALUE equipment.
Don't panic.
Check SIP-traces.
If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a duck.

vad
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 3434
Joined: 23 Sep 2004 06:47
Location: Russia

Re: Not able to send and receive FAX on SIP PSTN Trunks

Post by vad » 17 Jul 2018 23:24

"But the FAX machines were working perfectly before the outage." - as I understand - was no problem with your PBX (codecs, management etc.)
Try to find what was changed. Do you use SBC on your network?

User avatar
mustafa.ahmad
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: 27 May 2010 03:23

Re: Not able to send and receive FAX on SIP PSTN Trunks

Post by mustafa.ahmad » 18 Jul 2018 05:49

Actually , the sip trace from the PSTN is mentioning that the codec being sent is G729 and required is G711.

but when I checked with alcatel docs it is mentioned in TKC Article Number: 000004870

I suspect, that the PSTN has changed their codec settings.
ACSE OXE R10/R11/R12
ACSE OT R1/R2
ACSE Hospitality
ACFE OmniSwitch R6/R7
ACFE OXO R8/R9
Excellent hands on - OXR , OV 4760 , OV 8770 , IAA , 4635, 4645

Post Reply

Return to “SIP”