SFP compatability with Omniswitches

Post Reply
mdhussainvlr
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: 13 Nov 2017 01:42

SFP compatability with Omniswitches

Post by mdhussainvlr » 04 Jun 2018 05:22

Hi,

I’m going to order SFP from FS.com is it fully compatible with all omniswitches.

Have anyone tried ?

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 906
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: SFP compatability with Omniswitches

Post by devnull » 04 Jun 2018 06:29

Alcatel does not block specific SFPs, so if fs.com tells you it is working it should.

What i experienced is: if you are opening a SR and have third-party SFPs installed the support may refuse to work on the ticket.

mdhussainvlr
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: 13 Nov 2017 01:42

SFP compatability with Omniswitches

Post by mdhussainvlr » 19 Jun 2018 13:54

But I have seen there too many TKC with third party Sfp? In Alcatel business portal

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 906
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: SFP compatability with Omniswitches

Post by devnull » 20 Jun 2018 08:50

Your mileage may vary - i had experiences where this (Support refusing to work on a ticket) has happend, but i have seen many installations with third party transceivers that worked fine.
BUT if there is an issue the possibility that alcatel will not support is there.

So you / customer has to do calculation of risk and then decide for a solution. Don't do that for a mission critical installation.

mdhussainvlr
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: 13 Nov 2017 01:42

Re: SFP compatability with Omniswitches

Post by mdhussainvlr » 20 Jun 2018 09:39

Thanks Devnell for your advice

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6450”