Automatic POE on Startup

Post Reply
lneib
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Jun 2018 17:03

Automatic POE on Startup

Post by lneib » 01 Jun 2018 17:12

Hi all, I am brand new to this forum and brand new to the world of Alcatel switches. I have multiple OS6450-P24 and P48 switches. I took over this job from my predecessor about 30 days ago and still learning so pardon me if I seem like I am asking novice questions. I have a brand new switch that was in storage, not sure when it was bought but it was never put online until a weeks ago. I got it configured but POE was not working, after some reading I used the "lanpower start" command and POE started no problem, as soon as I took the switch from the lab to the closet i was putting it in the POW stopped working until I hooked up a console cable and typed in the command again. is there a way to run that command upon boot-up so I don't have to type it in all the time if the power goes out. I only have 3 Accesspoints I want to run from the one switch. thanks in advance for your help.
Last edited by lneib on 04 Jun 2018 16:53, edited 1 time in total.

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 928
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: Automatic POE on Startup

Post by devnull » 04 Jun 2018 04:43

have you saved the config after you configured lanpower start?
try
"write memory flash-synchro"

Check if the config persists after power cylce - it should

lneib
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Jun 2018 17:03

Re: Automatic POE on Startup

Post by lneib » 04 Jun 2018 12:39

I did save the config after executing the command, but I used

copy certified working
write memory
copy working certified

I will try your write memory command, Thanks

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 928
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: Automatic POE on Startup

Post by devnull » 05 Jun 2018 06:30

Write memory flash synchro
should be enough to store the current running config into working and certified.
download the config in working/certified and verify that the lanpower command is there.

lneib
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Jun 2018 17:03

Re: Automatic POE on Startup

Post by lneib » 06 Jun 2018 18:17

that worked like a champ, thank you for all the help

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6450”