STACKING SETUP

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1224
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: STACKING SETUP

Post by silvio » 20 Jul 2018 09:39

In your case there is no automatic. If you realy would like to change the numbers in this way than make a backup of your boot.cfg. You have to change all port number by yourself from 2/1 to 1/1 etc. (f.e. with notepad++) within this file. Than delete all the boot.cfg (working and certified) and boot.slot.cfg (flash) within all switches and copy the new edited boot.cfg file to working and certified in old stack 2. Now power down all the switches and power up in order old #2 up to old #5 (with delay more than 15 sec - better wait half a minute between power up).
I hope it will work. :)
regards
Silvio

thermseeker
Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 08 Jul 2016 08:40

Re: STACKING SETUP

Post by thermseeker » 23 Jul 2018 12:40

Thank you Silvio, will do that way.
Regards,
Tales

dnsleepless
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Aug 2018 13:28

Re: STACKING SETUP

Post by dnsleepless » 20 Aug 2018 13:41

Can you confirm if modules XNI-U2 is *absolutely* required for stacking?

Can stacking be performed with the native front ports on OS6450-P48 ?

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 942
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: STACKING SETUP

Post by devnull » 21 Aug 2018 05:24

For the last years with 6450 you need the XNI-U2.
Stacking via Frontport is not possible (only in the 10Port variants)

At least in 6.7.1R04 hardware user guide states:
Required Stacking Module
OmniSwitch 6450-10 - N/A (Uses built-in stacking ports)
All other models - OS6450-XNI-U2

I don't think it has changed in newer versions.

sputniki
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: 27 Jan 2010 10:35

Re: STACKING SETUP

Post by sputniki » 21 Aug 2018 05:51

Required Stacking Module: OmniSwitch 6450-10 - N/A (Uses built-in stacking ports) All other models - OS6450-XNI-U2

The only changes on Expansion Modules where made in 6.7.2R03 for 2x10GB-Uplink in Standalone Mode with new module OS6450-XNI-U2X without requirement of extra 10G-license.

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6450”