Dynamic VLAN / Sticky mac-address

mertensseppe

Dynamic VLAN / Sticky mac-address

Post by mertensseppe »

Hi all!

I am a student who is doing research around Alcatel switches. I have only experience in Cisco switches so i would love some help.

I am currently doing some research around dynamic vlan and sticky mac-addresses. And I was wondering if you guys could help me.

Within our company network we have wired computers that are in a Vlan together. Now it is intended that only company computers can access this Vlan, all other computers (from visitors or people with less good intentions) should be automatically sent to the guest Vlan.

I was thinking of Dynamic Vlan myself, but I would not know if this is possible. If this were possible, you can provide some information here and put me on my way.

As a second option, which is less appropriate but can serve as a temporary solution, I thought of sticky mac addresses. Is this possible to do and how can I do this easily, so that I do not have to configure each port separately. Can this be done automatically or in one go?

Thanks for your help!
Seppe
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru

Re: Dynamic VLAN / Sticky mac-address

Post by silvio »

I will start with the second question: With port-security (LPS) feature you can do it. For example you can "convert-to-static" the actual successfull learned mac-address (the good one) to a fix entry at this port. This you can do for all the ports at the same time (port-range).

To allow only your domain computers to access the network you have two ways.
Mac-Addess-Authentication with a central Radius-Server where all your mac-addresses will be stored (f.e. within the AD).