Broadcast switching on VC

KernelPanic

Broadcast switching on VC

Post by KernelPanic »

Hello Alcatel-friends,

i'm quite new to switching in general and Alcatel in special. At the moment i'm struggling with maybe a bit stupid question.
Would be nice if you could shed some light 8)

So i'm trying to understand how the switches handle broacasts and/or unknown unicast packets - especially in a VC and in combination with Spanning Tree.

Let's imagine we have a default VC with two chassis, connected over the VFL, only the default vlan is configured on all ports.
On port 1/1/1 arrives a broadcast and with my basic understanding i would say - the switch has to flood the broadcast out of all connected interfaces, except 1/1/1. So the switch has to transmit the broadcast over the VFL and also flood it on the second chassis. So far so good.

Now there comes a second VC with two chassis.
Port 1/1/2 VC 1 is connected with 1/1/2 VC 2
Port 2/1/2 VC 1 is connected with 2/1/2 VC 2

So we have two physical inks between the VCS, no aggregation, on the same vlan.

Now my question - loop or no loop? What happens with broadcasts arriving on VC 1 Port 1/1/1.

Thanks for you help and patience.

KernelPanic
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru

Re: Broadcast switching on VC

Post by silvio »

you fully understand correctly BC and UUCAST traffic - it has to be flooded at all ports (within the same vlan) beside the incoming port. A VC is like one big switch (like a chassis switch) with 2 or more slots. This is called virtual chassis. The mac-table, arp-table etc. will be shared between all the chassis. Thats why the link between is named VFL - virtual fabric link. So you can trust alcatel that a VC (same to a stack) handles the traffic correctly. So no loop. In your example with all ports in vlan 1. Incoming BC at 1/1/1 will be flooted at all other ports off all chassis (member of vc) beside 1/1/1 and the vfl-ports.
regards
Silvio
KernelPanic

Post by KernelPanic »