How to configure VLAN and IP interfaces properly for 802.1x

Post Reply
jonha134
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 20 Oct 2011 05:47

How to configure VLAN and IP interfaces properly for 802.1x

Post by jonha134 »

I want to configure our 6850 switches for 802.1x authentication with a radius server but am having problem with setting up the vlan and IP interfaces properly.

Our setup
5x 6850 each connected over opto to a alcatel Coreswitch. Each 6850 has three vlans configured (one for management of the switches and two for business needs). The IP interfaces for each "business vlan" is only configured in the core switch and both are spread across all 6850s and the core switch. The only configured ip interface in the 6850:s is the management interface. Now I am adding a 6850 for test with VLAN. Now to my question:

Since the "Business vlans" have no interfaces configured on the 6850:s, how can radius packets be exchanged between the switch and the radius server? Should I configure an IP interface? How should the ports be configured? The 802.1x ports must be mobile..
jonha134
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 20 Oct 2011 05:47

Re: How to configure VLAN and IP interfaces properly for 802

Post by jonha134 »

Well, the solution was obvious, I created a new VLAN for the radius traffic and set an IP interface for the VLAN on each switch and enabled routing between the radius VLAN and the VLAN the radius server was on. I also set the switch to use the IP interface of the radius VLAN for radius traffic (aaa radius agent preferred [ip]).
devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 976
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: How to configure VLAN and IP interfaces properly for 802

Post by devnull »

If you have a management interface on the 6850 and this interface can reach the radiusserver it should work as well..
No need to have a special VLAN, the switch will try to reach the radisuserver (if not directley connected vlan , than by the routing table)

Never did a special radius vlan in my installations.
jonha134
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 20 Oct 2011 05:47

Re: How to configure VLAN and IP interfaces properly for 802

Post by jonha134 »

That sounds reasonable, however we want to have our management vlan as separated as possible, but I guess letting traffic out of the vlan won't help anyone trying to get out..

Now I came across a different problem which i don't understand. The radius server can't reach the radius vlan's IP interface on the 6850. The packet gets to the radius vlan's IP interface of the core switch but not further (to the vlan's ip interface on the 6850). It can reach a test client sitting on the radius vlan on the 6850. I can ping the 6850's radius vlan Ip interface from the core switch itself.

My interpretations is that when the packed reaches the ip interface of the radius vlan on the core switch, that ip interface don't appear to be aware of the radius ip interface on the 6850. What am I missing? I have forwarding enabled on all IP interfaces.

If i add an ip interface for the server vlan on the 6850 everything works...
devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 976
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: How to configure VLAN and IP interfaces properly for 802

Post by devnull »

I guess it's time for a picture..
use traceroute, show routing tables aso.
jonha134
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 20 Oct 2011 05:47

Re: How to configure VLAN and IP interfaces properly for 802

Post by jonha134 »

Code: Select all

core switch show VLAN
 vlan  admin   oper   1x1   flat   auth   ip   ipx   tag   name
-----+-------+------+------+------+------+----+-----+-----+-----------
    1   off    off     on    on     off   off   NA   off   VLAN 1

   20    on     on     on    on     off    on   NA   off   SL

   30    on     on     on    on     off    on   NA   off   Visitor

   99    on     on     on    on     off    on   NA   off   Radius

  100    on     on     on    on     off    on   NA   off   Servers

  999    on     on     on    on     off    on   NA   off   Management

core switch show IP interface
        Name            IP Address     Subnet Mask   Status Forward  Device
--------------------+---------------+---------------+------+-------+--------
Management           192.168.248.254 255.255.255.0       UP      NO vlan 999
Radius               192.168.249.254 255.255.255.0       UP     YES vlan 99
SL		     10.10.20.254    255.255.255.0       UP     YES vlan 20
Servers              10.0.0.254      255.255.255.0       UP     YES vlan 100
Visitor              10.10.30.254    255.255.255.0       UP     YES vlan 30

core switch show ip route
  Dest Address      Subnet Mask       Gateway Addr      Age       Protocol
------------------+-----------------+-----------------+---------+---------
  0.0.0.0           0.0.0.0           192.168.1.254      123d 1h  NETMGMT
  10.0.0.0          255.255.255.0     10.0.0.254         126d 0h  LOCAL
  10.10.20.0        255.255.255.0     10.10.20.254       126d 0h  LOCAL
  10.10.30.0        255.255.255.0     10.10.30.254       126d 0h  LOCAL
  127.0.0.1         255.255.255.255   127.0.0.1          126d 1h  LOCAL
  192.168.248.0     255.255.255.0     192.168.248.254    126d 0h  LOCAL
  192.168.249.0     255.255.255.0     192.168.249.254    126d 0h  LOCAL

6850 show vlan
 vlan  admin   oper   1x1   flat   auth   ip   ipx   tag   name
-----+-------+------+------+------+------+----+-----+-----+-----------
    1   off    off     on    on     off   off   NA   off   VLAN 1

   20    on     on     on    on     off    on   NA   off   SL

   30    on     on     on    on     off    on   NA   off   Visitor

   99    on     on     on    on     off    on   NA   off   Radius

  100    on     on     on    on     off    on   NA   off   Servers

  999    on     on     on    on     off    on   NA   off   Management

6850 show IP interface
        Name            IP Address     Subnet Mask   Status Forward  Device
--------------------+---------------+---------------+------+-------+--------
Management           192.168.248.60  255.255.255.0       UP      NO vlan 999
Radius               192.168.249.60  255.255.255.0       UP     YES vlan 99

6850 show ip routes
  Dest Address      Subnet Mask       Gateway Addr      Age       Protocol
------------------+-----------------+-----------------+---------+---------
  0.0.0.0           0.0.0.0           192.168.1.254      123d 1h  NETMGMT
  192.168.248.0     255.255.255.0     192.168.248.60     126d 0h  LOCAL
  192.168.249.0     255.255.255.0     192.168.249.60     126d 0h  LOCAL

the switches are connected to each other on two trunked ports:
core switch:show 802.1q 1/23

Acceptable Frame Type    :      Any Frame Type
Force Tag Internal       :                  NA
Tagged VLANS    Internal Description
-------------+------------------------------------------+
          20   TEST TAG PORT 1/23 VLAN 20
          99   TEST TAG PORT 1/23 VLAN 99
         100   TEST TAG PORT 1/23 VLAN 100

6850 switch show 802.1q 1/48

Acceptable Frame Type    :      Any Frame Type
Force Tag Internal       :                  NA
Tagged VLANS    Internal Description
-------------+------------------------------------------+
          20   TEST TAG PORT 1/23 VLAN 20
          99   TEST TAG PORT 1/23 VLAN 99
         100   TEST TAG PORT 1/23 VLAN 100


traceroute from core switch itself to  192.168.249.60
 1  192.168.249.60  166 ms  2 ms  2 ms

traceroute from radius server on vlan 100 (10.0.0.150) to 192.168.249.60
  1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  10.0.0.254
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.

traceroute from 6850 switch itself to 10.0.0.150 (radiusserver)
1 * * *
i can ping a client on the radius vlan connected to the 6850 switch from the radius server.

Your help is very much appreciated.
devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 976
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: How to configure VLAN and IP interfaces properly for 802

Post by devnull »

So judging from you outout:
Your Radiusserver is 10.0.0.150
Your Switch has 192.168.249.60

Coreswitch has IPs in Server Network, Management/Radiusnetwork, he is the default Router.

Your defaultgateway for the 6850 Switch is 192.168.1.254 - this no network the 6850 has an interface in thus the defaultgateway is unreachable -> no routing. You need to change that for a reachable IP, that does the routing, so take an IP of the core for that. (in a VLAN that the Switch has an IP.

Could you try to change the default route to 192.168.248.254 or 192.168.249.254 (which should both be on the core switch).

I think that it will work there. (try pinging the defaultgateway from the switch)

Code: Select all

traceroute from core switch itself to  192.168.249.60
 1  192.168.249.60  166 ms  2 ms  2 ms
This works as both switches have an IP in 192.168.249.0
i can ping a client on the radius vlan connected to the 6850 switch from the radius server.
Where did you do that? What is the defaultgateway of this client?
jonha134
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 20 Oct 2011 05:47

Re: How to configure VLAN and IP interfaces properly for 802

Post by jonha134 »

Oups, sorry, the entry you are referring to (0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.1.254 123d 1h NETMGMT) was a cut and paste error, in the 6850 the first routing entry is the loopback ip route.

However, your suggested issue appears to be the correct solution! I added a default gateway in the 6850 pointing to 192.168.249.254. Now radius works great, thanks!

However, DHCP stopped working. I had it working when I did not have a default GW in the 6850 but did have an IP interface for the server vlan. I have no helper address in the 6850, only in the core switch. The core has a ip helper for each vlan pointing to the same DHCP server. It works fine for clients sitting on other (production) 6850s. I cannot see any DHCP traffick on the DHCP server originating from "my" 6850.. What setting could affect the DHCP traffic? My first thought is that the DHCP discover packet does not reach the IP helper adress in the core switch. Can that be the problem?

Regards,
Jonas
jonha134
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 20 Oct 2011 05:47

Re: How to configure VLAN and IP interfaces properly for 802

Post by jonha134 »

Actually, after doing some more testing. Adding a DHCP client on a mobile port (default vlan 20) will somehow break connectivity between server vlan 100 and raidus vlan 99 (the client will nog get a DHCP address). If i remove the client and wait approx 5 minutes, the connectivity between vlan 99 and 100 is back again. Any thought?

Thanks for all the help so far!

EDIT: The connectivity issues is maybe not related to the DHCP client, it seems that connectivity just fail more or less randomly a while after setting the ip route.
Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6850 / 6850E”