Can't ping OS6850

Post Reply
jc_316
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Jan 2024 22:35

Can't ping OS6850

Post by jc_316 »

My laptop is connected directly to port 2/1 on the OmniSwitch 6850. I ping the ip address assigned to the vlan, but I only get timeouts. Would anyone be able to give me some ideas to troubleshoot?

Setup:
Laptop is connected directly using ethernet cable to port 2/1 and console cable to the console port.

Code: Select all

-> show ip interface
Total 2 interfaces
        Name            IP Address     Subnet Mask   Status Forward  Device
--------------------+---------------+---------------+------+-------+--------
Loopback             127.0.0.1       255.0.0.0           UP      NO Loopback
vl99                 182.168.90.100  255.255.0.0         UP     YES vlan 99

-> show ip interface vl99
Interface Name = vl99
  SNMP Interface Index           =   13600001,
  IP Address                     =   182.168.90.100,
  Subnet Mask                    =   255.255.0.0,
  Broadcast Address              =   182.168.255.255,
  Device                         =   vlan 99,
  Encapsulation                  =   eth2,
  Forwarding                     =   enabled,
  Administrative State           =   enabled,
  Operational State              =   up,
  Router MAC                     =   00:e0:b1:82:f8:ee,
  Local Proxy ARP                =   disabled,
  Maximum Transfer Unit          =   1500,
  Primary (config/actual)        =   no/yes

-> show vlan
                              stree                       mble
 vlan  type  admin   oper   1x1   flat   auth   ip   ipx   tag   name
-----+------+------+------+------+------+----+-----+-----+-----+----------
   1    std   on    off     on    on     off   off   NA   off   VLAN 1
  99    std   on     on     on    on     off    on   NA    on   vl1

-> show vlan 99 port
  port     type      status
--------+---------+--------------
  2/1    default   forwarding

-> show arp

Total 0 arp entries
 Flags (P=Proxy, A=Authentication, V=VRRP)

 IP Addr           Hardware Addr       Type       Flags   Port     Interface   Name
-----------------+-------------------+----------+-------+--------+-----------+----------


-> show mac-address-table
Legend: Mac Address: * = address not valid

   Vlan      Mac Address          Type       Protocol    Operation    Interface
  ------+-------------------+--------------+-----------+------------+-----------
    99    74:78:27:15:0b:04        learned         ---     bridging       2/1

Total number of Valid MAC addresses above = 1
jc_316
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Jan 2024 22:35

Re: Can't ping OS6850

Post by jc_316 »

more details:

Code: Select all

-> show interfaces 2/1
 Slot/Port  2/1  :
  Operational Status     : up,
  Last Time Link Changed : WED JAN 24 18:08:07 ,
  Number of Status Change: 2,
  Type                   : Ethernet,
  SFP/XFP                : Not Present,
  MAC address            : 00:e0:b1:82:f8:f0,
  BandWidth (Megabits)   :     1000,            Duplex           : Full,
  Autonegotiation        :   1  [ 1000-F 100-F 100-H 10-F 10-H ],
  Long Frame Size(Bytes) : 9216,
  Rx              :
  Bytes Received  :               357912, Unicast Frames :                    0,
  Broadcast Frames:                  318, M-cast Frames  :                 1727,
  UnderSize Frames:                    0, OverSize Frames:                    0,
  Lost Frames     :                    0, Error Frames   :                    0,
  CRC Error Frames:                    0, Alignments Err :                    0,
  Tx              :
  Bytes Xmitted   :                19270, Unicast Frames :                    5,
  Broadcast Frames:                    3, M-cast Frames  :                  275,
  UnderSize Frames:                    0, OverSize Frames:                    0,
  Lost Frames     :                    0, Collided Frames:                    0,
  Error Frames    :                    0
jc_316
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Jan 2024 22:35

Re: Can't ping OS6850

Post by jc_316 »

more details that may help:

Code: Select all

-> show configuration snapshot all
! Chassis :
system name vxTarget
system timezone EST
! VLAN :
ethernet-service mode vstk
vlan 1 enable name "VLAN 1"
vlan 99 enable name "vl1"
vlan 99 mobile-tag enable
vlan 99 port default 2/1
! IP :
ip service all
ip interface "vl99" address 182.168.90.100 mask 255.255.0.0 vlan 99 ifindex 1
! IPMS :
ip multicast status enable
ip multicast querier-forwarding enable
! AAA :
aaa authentication console "local"
session timeout cli 596523
session timeout ftp 596523
session timeout http 596523
! Spanning tree :
bridge mode 1x1
! UDP Relay :
ip helper pxe-support disable
! System service :
swlog console level debug3
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1894
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Can't ping OS6850

Post by silvio »

What is the IP of the laptop? Do you use there also a public IP 182.168...?
Can you ping from the switch to the laptop?
User avatar
Gleylancer
Member
Posts: 156
Joined: 08 May 2013 03:14

Re: Can't ping OS6850

Post by Gleylancer »

182.168.x.x is not a private IP Space. Please change to 192.168.x.x
jc_316
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Jan 2024 22:35

Re: Can't ping OS6850

Post by jc_316 »

Thank you silvio and Gleylancer - I appreciate you both looking into this for me
The solution was to set the ip address on the windows laptop as follows:

Go to Ethernet settings in windows (can search for "Ethernet settings") -> Make the following updates to IP settings:
IPv4

Manual
IP Address: (ip address to assign to laptop)
182.168.90.102
Subnet prefix length: (number of subnet mask bits)
16
Gateway: (ip address of vlan)
182.168.90.100
DNS (i used dummy values):
1.1.1.2
Alternate DNS (i used dummy values):
1.1.1.3
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1894
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Can't ping OS6850

Post by silvio »

like written: it is not a good idea to use public ip addresses in your private environment (only if this addresses are your own).
User avatar
Gleylancer
Member
Posts: 156
Joined: 08 May 2013 03:14

Re: Can't ping OS6850

Post by Gleylancer »

Do -NOT- use a public IP space. You will run into so many problems and security issues, I don't even know where to begin.
Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6850 / 6850E”