Is there discarded packets counter ?

Post Reply
cmarmonier
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: 12 Jan 2016 05:22

Is there discarded packets counter ?

Post by cmarmonier » 31 Jan 2017 07:40

Hello,

I would like to know if there are counters to see if there is an ethernet link saturation.

Do they exist ?

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1101
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Is there discarded packets counter ?

Post by silvio » 31 Jan 2017 16:56

There are a lot of "show interfaces" commands

Code: Select all

Core> show interfaces ?
                           ^
                           <cr> ACCOUNTING ALIAS BEACON CAPABILITY COUNTERS
                           DDM FLOOD-RATE INGRESS-RATE-LIMIT SPLIT-MODE STATUS
                           TDR-STATISTICS TRAFFIC SLOT PORT EMP
But if you would like to see how often one port was 100% of capacity you can check the traps in omnivista (port above threshold...).

regards
Silvio

cmarmonier
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: 12 Jan 2016 05:22

Re: Is there discarded packets counter ?

Post by cmarmonier » 01 Feb 2017 03:45

with the command line "show interfaces counter", I don't see byte number about Tx saturation (or Rx saturation if I enable ingress rate limiting).
Where can I find this informations ?

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1101
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Is there discarded packets counter ?

Post by silvio » 01 Feb 2017 16:12

you can activate statistic with the following command:
qos qsi port 1/1/1 stats admin-state enable
than you can see the bytes/packets per queue - and also the droped packets.
show qos qsi port 1/1 stats
show qos qsi port 1/1 stats bytes
show qos qsi port 1/1 stats rate
show qos qsi port 1/1 stats rate bytes

regards
Silvio

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 884
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: Is there discarded packets counter ?

Post by devnull » 02 Feb 2017 02:39

On "old" Switches (6850) there was a mentioning when you issue show interfaces X/Y counters:
-> show interfaces 1/13 counters
InOctets = 54367578586897979, OutOctets = 5.78E19,
InUcastPkts = 55654265276, OutUcastPkts = 5.78E20,
InMcastPkts = 58767867868768777, OutMcastPkts = 5465758756856,
InBcastPkts = 576567567567567576, OutBcastPkts = 786876,
InPauseFrames = 567798768768767, OutPauseFrames= 786876,
Sampling Interval 5 second
InPkts / s = 11, OutPkts / s = 11,
Inbits / s = 111111, Outbits / s = 111111,


At least you had 5 seconds utiliazations.. unfortunatley i have not seen this in AOS 7/8

cmarmonier
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: 12 Jan 2016 05:22

Re: Is there discarded packets counter ?

Post by cmarmonier » 02 Feb 2017 11:48

I thank you Silvio, It was that I searched.
Do you Know what is SNMP OID name for the tx drop counter ?
I saw in SNMP there is ifInDiscards OID but I think it isn't the tx drop counter....
And what is command line to see the ifInDiscards counter ?

User avatar
David_Klancar
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: 01 Dec 2017 04:56

Re: Is there discarded packets counter ?

Post by David_Klancar » 12 Jan 2018 11:21

Hi!,

below the OIDs for the interface statistics, depending if you use 32bits or 64bits counters:

SNMPFilters32 = {'Ingresserrors':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.14', \
'Ingressdiscards':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.13', \
'IngressBytes':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.10', \
'IngressUcastPkts':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.11', \
'IngressNUCastPkts':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.12', \
'Egresserrors':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.20', \
'Egressdiscards':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.19', \
'EgressBytes':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.16', \
'EgressUcastPkts':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.17', \
'EgressNUCastPkts':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.18', \
'OperationalStatus':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.8', \
'Speed':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.5', \
'IntDescription':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.2', \
'IntAlias':'1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.18'}
SNMPFilters64 = {'Ingresserrors':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.14', \
'Ingressdiscards':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.13', \
'IngressBytes':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.6', \
'IngressUcastPkts':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.7', \
'IngressBroadcastPkts':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.9', \
'IngressMulticastPkts':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.8', \
'Egresserrors':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.20', \
'Egressdiscards':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.19', \
'EgressBytes':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.10', \
'EgressUcastPkts':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.11', \
'EgressBroadcastPkts':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.13', \
'EgressMulticastPkts':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.12', \
'OperationalStatus':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.8', \
'Speed':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.15', \
'IntDescription':'.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.2', \
'IntAlias':'1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.18'}

Best regards

David

cmarmonier
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: 12 Jan 2016 05:22

Re: Is there discarded packets counter ?

Post by cmarmonier » 30 Jan 2018 08:09

I thank you :)

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6860 / 6860E”