Dynamic vlan assignment possible via AD?

Cyberurmel
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 02 Jun 2017 03:20

Dynamic vlan assignment possible via AD?

Post by Cyberurmel » 15 Nov 2017 09:18

Hi all ,

just 2 short questions :

1. Is dynamic vlan assignment possible with the 6450 Switches - our Distribution are 6900?
2. If yes - which Kind of ? Only Mac Authentication or what i should Need better : Active Directory?

thx and Regards

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1161
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Dynamic vlan assignment possible via AD?

Post by silvio » 15 Nov 2017 11:55

yes is possible with Authentication (mac or 802.1x). You need NPS at MS Server. Best way is to send back the option filter-id depending from your AD-Group (f.e. filter-id = teamA for group teamA). Create in your switches unp (same name like filter-id - f.e. teamA) and activate at the ports access guardian (for authentication). At the unp you have to map the vlan. Please look into the network guide for more informations.
regards
Silvio

cobe
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 May 2018 04:43

Re: Dynamic vlan assignment possible via AD?

Post by cobe » 09 May 2018 09:37

Hello

Can you give me an exapmle on one of your ports.

I have been struguling a couple of day now.


Thank you

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1161
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Dynamic vlan assignment possible via AD?

Post by silvio » 11 May 2018 01:24

here an example for your access switch (R6):

Code: Select all

aaa radius-server RAD-1 host 172.30.30.150 key alcatel 
aaa authentication 802.1x RAD-1
vlan port mobile 1/1
vlan port 1/1 802.1x enable
aaa user-network-profile name „UNP-Voice" vlan 30 
aaa user-network-profile name „UNP-Data" vlan 31 
important is that your radius-server (NPS) is sending back the attribute filter-id with same name like the UNP (case sensitive). In my ex. UNP-Voice or UNP-Data.

If you would like to use a radius server also for mac-auth than you need this lines:

Code: Select all

aaa authentication mac RAD-1
802.1x 1/1 non-supplicant policy authentication pass block fail block
The same here: the received attribute filter-id has to be the same like configured UNP.
To the AD (or other database) all the mac-addresses has to be added - with mac-address as user-name AND mac-address as password (in capital letter, without any colons or dashes)

You can test the connection between switch and Radius-server with the following command:

Code: Select all

> aaa test-radius-server RAD-1 type authentication user 00809F567D04 password 00809F567D04
Testing Radius Server <172.30.30.150/RAD-1>
Access-Challenge from 172.30.30.150 Port 1812 Time: 74 ms
    Filter-ID = UNP-Voice
Reply from 172.30.30.150 port 1812 req_num<0>: timeout
Access-Reject from 172.30.30.150 Port 1812 Time: 9 ms
Returned Attributes

Code: Select all

> aaa test-radius-server RAD-1 type authentication user User1 password xxxx
Testing Radius Server <172.30.30.150/RAD-1>
Access-Challenge from 172.30.30.150 Port 1812 Time: 74 ms
    Filter-ID = UNP-Data
Reply from 172.30.30.150 port 1812 req_num<0>: timeout
Access-Reject from 172.30.30.150 Port 1812 Time: 9 ms
Returned Attributes
regards
Silvio

cobe
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 May 2018 04:43

Re: Dynamic vlan assignment possible via AD?

Post by cobe » 14 May 2018 04:52

Hello


I still cant get it to work

My configuration is the same as your example

Here is the configuration on the switch:

Code: Select all

 
 aaa radius-server "NPS" host 10.2.250.78 key 7dab343c8bc9a861206b3812c1b76289 retransmit 3 timeout 2 auth-p
 aaa user-network-profile name "Budget" vlan 4 hic disable
aaa user-network-profile name "IT" vlan 5 hic disable
aaa user-network-profile name "Pravni" vlan 2 hic disable
aaa user-network-profile name "kabinet" vlan 3 hic disable
! PARTM :
! 802.1x :
802.1x 1/3 direction both port-control auto quiet-period 60 tx-period 30 supp-timeout 30 server-timeout 30 max-req 2 re-authperiod 3600 no reauthentication
802.1x 1/3 captive-portal session-limit 12 retry-count 3
802.1x 1/3 supp-polling retry 2
802.1x 1/3 captive-portal inactivity-logout disable
802.1x 1/3 supplicant policy authentication pass group-mobility default-vlan fail block
802.1x 1/3 non-supplicant policy block
802.1x 1/3 captive-portal policy authentication pass default-vlan fail block


  
But when i test he conectivity of the radius server it returns the folowing:

Code: Select all

-> aaa test-radius-server NPS type authentication user kabinettest password Password123
Testing Radius Server <10.2.250.78/NPS>
Access-Reject from 10.2.250.78 Port 1812 Time: 7 ms
Returned Attributes

The user kabinettest is a user in AD and it is a member of kabinet group.


This is the network policy configuration on the NPS Server for the user kabinettest



Image


Image


Any suggestions would be very helpful.

Thank you
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 922
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: Dynamic vlan assignment possible via AD?

Post by devnull » 14 May 2018 07:36

Two pictures are not visible here.
Access Reject and no returned attributes hints to an error in NPS config, e.g. wrong psk, wrong CRP, no cleartext methods allowed in NPS.

Using debug logs points you to which policy is used (but NPS log is kinda bad, as e.g. a wrong psk is shown as user rejected (not Radius client uses wrong key)

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1161
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Dynamic vlan assignment possible via AD?

Post by silvio » 14 May 2018 11:03

maybe your common key to the Radius is too long. Please, make your test with an easy key.
I have seen limitations at microsoft side...
Also, like devnull is writing, for the test command PAP is necessary. You can check the reason for the issue in diagnostics at the server.
regards
Silvio

cobe
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 May 2018 04:43

Re: Dynamic vlan assignment possible via AD?

Post by cobe » 16 May 2018 10:02

Hello

After upgrading the AOS to 6.7.2 and performing a clean configuration on the switch i finally got the switch to comunicate with the radius server

Code: Select all


-> aaa test-radius-server NPS type authentication user budgettest password Password123 method pap
Testing Radius Server <10.2.250.78/NPS>
Access-Accept from 10.2.250.78 Port 1812 Time: 13 ms
Returned Attributes
    Filter-ID = Budget
    Framed Protocol = PPP
    Service Type = framed
    Tunnel-Medium-Type = IEEE 802
    Tunnel Private Group Id = 4
    Tunnel-Type = VLAN
    Unsupported Vendor Specific Id
    Unsupported Vendor Specific Id
    Unsupported Vendor Specific Id


-> aaa test-radius-server NPS type authentication user kabinettest password Password123 method pap
Testing Radius Server <10.2.250.78/NPS>
Access-Accept from 10.2.250.78 Port 1812 Time: 6 ms
Returned Attributes
    Filter-ID = kabinet
    Framed Protocol = PPP
    Service Type = framed
    Tunnel Private Group Id = 3
    Tunnel-Type = VLAN
    Unsupported Vendor Specific Id
    Unsupported Vendor Specific Id
    Unsupported Vendor Specific Id

-> aaa test-radius-server NPS type authentication user pravnitest password Password123 method pap
Testing Radius Server <10.2.250.78/NPS>
Access-Accept from 10.2.250.78 Port 1812 Time: 15 ms
Returned Attributes
    Filter-ID = Pravni
    Framed Protocol = PPP
    Service Type = framed
    Tunnel Private Group Id = 2
    Tunnel-Type = VLAN
    Unsupported Vendor Specific Id
    Unsupported Vendor Specific Id
    Unsupported Vendor Specific Id




-> aaa test-radius-server NPS type authentication user slobodan.janevski password Password123 method pap
Testing Radius Server <10.2.250.78/NPS>
Access-Accept from 10.2.250.78 Port 1812 Time: 8 ms
Returned Attributes
    Filter-ID = IT
    Unsupported Vendor Specific Id
    Unsupported Vendor Specific Id
    Unsupported Vendor Specific Id


It returns diffrent atributes for difrent groups.Thats just for testing purposes.

But i stil cant get an ip address on a client pc


Now i get the folowing logs on the NPS Server

Negotiation failed. Requested EAP methods not available Event 1006 and

Negotiation failed. No available EAP methods-Event 1004.

These are the difrent settings for each policy on the NPS Server
pravni2.PNG
budget2.PNG
kabinet2.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

cobe
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 May 2018 04:43

Re: Dynamic vlan assignment possible via AD?

Post by cobe » 16 May 2018 10:04

In the constrains tab i use difrent settings for testing purposes

Sorry about the double picture.Something is going on my PC

cobe
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 May 2018 04:43

Re: Dynamic vlan assignment possible via AD?

Post by cobe » 17 May 2018 03:03

pravni2.PNG
budget2.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6450”