Configuring switch as NTP Server

Post Reply
hello1243
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 Jul 2018 07:26

Configuring switch as NTP Server

Post by hello1243 » 10 Jul 2018 21:54

Hi All,

I'm trying to configure my OS6900 switch as a NTP server. The switch is not synchronized to any other sources.
I ran the following commands on the switch:

Code: Select all

ntp server 192.168.1.1
ntp client admin-state enable
ntp server unsynchronized
I ran the following on my client machines

Code: Select all

ntpdate -dv 192.168.1.1
I was not able to synchronized time to the switch as ntpdate reported that the '192.168.1.1: Server dropped: Leap not in sync' and ;no server suitable for synchronization found'

Are there more commands to be executed on the switch?

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1193
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Configuring switch as NTP Server

Post by silvio » 12 Jul 2018 01:59

per default the ntp server is activ. You have only to configure the ntp clients with the three commands you have written. You can check at server with: show ntp server client-list and at client: show ntp client.
regards
Silvio

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 932
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: Configuring switch as NTP Server

Post by devnull » 12 Jul 2018 06:39

See http://www.planetcobalt.net/sdb/ntp_leap.shtml
could occur if the initial synchronization has not happend yet.

Otherwise check the ntp server status
"show ntp server status" -> you are better that stratum 16 i hope?

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6900”