IP helper not working

Post Reply
rtrbnc
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Mar 2014 15:56

IP helper not working

Post by rtrbnc »

I am trying to enable IP helper to have my phones pull DHCP from the existing DHCP server. If I connect my laptop to port 1/10 and give it a static IP of 172.17.2.10 I can ping 172.17.2.1 and also the 192.168.1.0/24 network, but my laptop on port 1/10 will not pull DHCP from 192.168.1.24. This is my first time working with the OmniSwitch line, so any help is appreciated.

Code: Select all

! Stack Manager :
! Chassis :
system name PhoneSwitch1
system timezone CST
system daylight savings time disable
! Configuration:
! VLAN :
vlan 1 enable name "LAN"
vlan 5 enable name "PHONE"
vlan 5 port default 1/10
! VLAN SL:
! IP :
ip service all
ip interface "PHONE" address 172.17.2.1 mask 255.255.255.0 vlan 5 ifindex 1
ip interface "LAN" address 192.168.1.10 mask 255.255.255.0 vlan 1 ifindex 2
! IPMS :
! AAA :
aaa authentication telnet "local"
aaa authentication http "local"
! PARTM :
! 802.1x :
! QOS :
! Policy manager :
! Session manager :
! SNMP :
! RIP :
! IPv6 :
! IP multicast :
! IPRM :
! RIPng :
! Health monitor :
health threshold temperature 78
! Interface :
! Udld :
! Port Mapping :
! Link Aggregate :
! VLAN AGG:
! 802.1Q :
! Spanning tree :
bridge mode 1x1
! Bridging :
! Bridging :
! Port mirroring :
! UDP Relay :
ip helper address 192.168.1.24
ip helper forward delay 0
ip helper agent-information enable
! System service :
swlog console level info
! SSH :
! VRRP :
! Web :
! AMAP :
! Lan  Power :
lanpower 1 maxpower 225
lanpower 2 maxpower 225
! NTP :
! RDP :
! VLAN STACKING:
! EFM-OAM :
! SAA :
! Loopback-detection :
! ERP :
! TEST-OAM :
! DHL :
! LLDP :
! DHCP Server :
devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 976
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: IP helper not working

Post by devnull »

Your config it seems ok.
Whats
show ip-helper
show ip-helper statistics

showing?
Do you get dhcp request at your server ? (Wireshark?)
rtrbnc
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Mar 2014 15:56

Re: IP helper not working

Post by rtrbnc »

Code: Select all

-> show ip helper
Ip helper :
  Forward Delay(seconds) = 0,
  Max number of hops     = 4,
  Relay Agent Information            =  Enabled,
  Relay Agent Information Policy     =  Drop
  DHCP Snooping Status               =  Disabled
  DHCP Snooping Bypass Opt82-Check   =  Disabled,
  DHCP Snooping Opt82 Policy  =  Replace
  DHCP Snooping Opt82 Format  =  Base MAC,
  DHCP Snooping Opt82 String  =  e8:e7:32:b4:8c:78,
  DHCP Snooping Binding DB Status    =  Disabled,
  PXE support                        =  Disabled,
  Forward option     = standard
      Vlan Number NA
  Bootup Option Disable
      Forwarding Address :
        192.168.1.24

-> show ip helper stats

 Global Statistics :
    Reception From Client :
      Total Count =       2123, Delta =       2123,
    Forw Delay Violation :
      Total Count =          2, Delta =          2,
    Max Hops Violation :
      Total Count =          0, Delta =          0,
    Agent Info Violation :
      Total Count =          0, Delta =          0,
    Invalid Gateway IP :
      Total Count =          0, Delta =          0,
    Invalid Agent Info From Server :
      Total Count =          0, Delta =          0,
 Server Specific Statistics :
    Server  192.168.1.24
        Tx Server :
          Total Count =         29, Delta =         29
On Wireshark I only see DHCP Discover coming from 192.168.1.10 to 192.168.1.24.
nperalta
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 27 May 2009 19:02
Location: CHILE

Re: IP helper not working

Post by nperalta »

UDP Relay :
ip helper address 192.168.1.24 vlan 1 ( you need specify the vlan )
ip helper forward delay 0
ip helper agent-information enable
Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6250”