4760 - unable to connect to server

4760 - unable to connect to server

Postby sera544 » Tue Jun 15, 2010 5:02 am

Hi all,

4760 - R.5.1.06.03c

Am getting this error msg when i open the client, unable to connect to server, last time i faced this issue i didn't find the solution so i reinstall the 4760, again it happen to me today, this the second time
there must some solution for this issue, plz advise

we didn't do any upgrade and no license changed...i found it old forum sun one server to be started, when i try to run the sun one server service windows says, some programs will not run there is nothing to do..

already i have checked the users license, 4760 - 250 users, OXE - 222 users are created..

thanks in advance..
User avatar
sera544
Member
 
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:51 pm
Location: Khartoum, Sudan

Postby tincho.rn » Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:56 am

Check Firewall configuration in your client. The use server name and not IP address. Regards.
tincho.rn
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
 
Posts: 928
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:40 am
Location: Argentina

Postby corwin » Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:31 pm

maybe you use to many disk space and 4760 stop running to prevent dta loss
have a look at 4760\log\nmc svg mgr to find the root cause
corwin
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:20 am

Postby sera544 » Sat Jun 19, 2010 11:54 pm

Hi,

I have checked the firewall and DNS names it's ok, i try to disable the firewall still problem exisits...

corwin, wht do u mean many disk space, i have only on partition c:/...and here is a error shows from then log file

1808 svc_mgr: Error: connection to LDAP server failed (error 85: Timed out)
1808 svc_mgr: closing LDAP connection
1792 svc_mgr: Warning: InternalAlarm DLL : Can't bind LDAP Server for AlarmServer IOR

cheers...
User avatar
sera544
Member
 
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:51 pm
Location: Khartoum, Sudan

Postby corwin » Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:46 pm

you 4760 integrated ldap db server is down
this means , when 4760 svc mgr starts, it cannot find the list of other 4760 service in 4760 ldap db
try to start again sun directory server 5.2
if startup operation fails; look at 4760\netscape\slapd-4760\log\ error and acces file
if you fine cannot recover ldap db
your ldap db is definitively corrupted, you may found there a lot of logxxx file that are a result of corrupted db (delete all of them except the 3 most recent)

uninstall all and reinstall then restore a valid backup
if you can spend time
locate a recent backup

launch this command
c:\"pathofthebackup" acecompress -p x slapd-4760.ace c:/temp
you will get a valid ldap db under c:\temp\... netscape\slapd-4760

do a copu paste of all file to 4760\netscape\slapd-4760
and relaunch sunone directory server

this way
you will go back to ldap setup of that day
start then nms servcie manager
corwin
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:20 am

Postby sera544 » Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:39 pm

Hi folks,

Thanks a lot for ur replies, i found the problem, which is on Anti-virus software, after i removed the software it works perfectly..i tired antivirus software NOD32, Norton, MC afee, all are failed me, so i just run my PC with out Antivirus software..rediculus isn't it...i have installed 4760 3 times because of this antivirus software.....anyway it works like charm right now...

cheers...
User avatar
sera544
Member
 
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:51 pm
Location: Khartoum, Sudan

Postby Gila » Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:52 am

I use Symantec as an anti virus software, made the software exclude C:/4760 and C:/4760_ARC, and it works correctly.
Gila
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 9:29 am

Postby bigmac » Thu Sep 02, 2010 3:36 am

I have the same issue thanks for the Symantec tip will make the exclusion and see if this corrects the problem
User avatar
bigmac
Member
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Ireland

Postby sera544 » Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:51 am

Hi all,

Installed 5th time 4760, with MC afee, i have exclude all the exe, allowed always...its working now..lets see..

cheers..
User avatar
sera544
Member
 
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:51 pm
Location: Khartoum, Sudan

Postby bigmac » Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:27 am

I tried the exclusion on Symantec but issue re-occured, nothing in log file to indicate ldap issue (or anything else of use). I have replaced PC with a new one with fresh OS install & 4760 install to rule out any PC/OS issues (I hope). now we wait....
User avatar
bigmac
Member
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Ireland

Next

Return to OmniVista 4760

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: xbartx and 1 guest

Creative Commons License
AlcatelUnleashed by AlcatelUnleashed is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at www.AlcatelUnleashed.com.
AlcatelUnleashed is NOT affiliated with or endorsed by Alcatel-Lucent.
Contact: info at alcatelunleashed.com
RSS FEED