Apple MacBook Pro and Alcatel programs

This forum is for misc discussions that have nothing to do with Alcatel-Lucent.
Post Reply
FN_DK
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 13 Aug 2009 08:00

Apple MacBook Pro and Alcatel programs

Post by FN_DK » 09 May 2014 03:47

Hi All,

As the General topic is closed I'll try my luck here.

Its soon time for me get a new PC/computer, the old one is getting more than ready for an upgrade. Therefore I have been out searching the market for options. The MacBook Pro from Apple looks very attractive to me because of the retina screen specially.

So my question; does anyone here use Apple laptops for work (or have coullages), and is there any problem with running Alcatels programs? (PCinstaller, Audio Station, 4760/8770 clients ect. ect (Ill run BootCamp with WIN 7 Ulti 32/64 Bit)


I mainly work with the OXE platform and many of related products.


Please, this is NOT a thread about if you like Apple or not generally, its a question about the technical issues that can occur using it as a work computer.

Best Regards

User avatar
cavagnaro
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 6914
Joined: 14 Sep 2005 19:45
Location: Brasil, Porto Alegre
Contact:

Re: Apple MacBook Pro and Alcatel programs

Post by cavagnaro » 09 May 2014 06:18

Will work only using VMWare Fusion for example. I have 2 colleges working in that way.
Ignorance is not the problem, the problem is the one who doesn't want to learn

OTUC/ICS ACFE/ACSE R3.0/4.0/5.0/6.0
Certified Genesys CIV 8.5
Certified Genesys Troubleshooting 8.5
Certified Genesys BEP 8.x
Genesys Developer

User avatar
tgn
Member
Posts: 780
Joined: 30 Dec 2009 17:59
Location: Germany

Re: Apple MacBook Pro and Alcatel programs

Post by tgn » 10 May 2014 03:37

i have a mac pro with retina with 8GB in use.
i work with mac os 10.9.1 (because of the unix in backround).
all needed alcatel software lives in virtual machines. virtual box is my main virtualizer. trouble is only with ALEDS tool because it depends on vmware and there is no vmplayer for this platform. but i'm working on it ;).
there is enough power in the macbook for an OXE and a 8770 (and more).
--- back to basics... focus your eyes to the essential things... ---

User avatar
frank
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 12671
Joined: 06 Jul 2004 00:18
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Apple MacBook Pro and Alcatel programs

Post by frank » 16 May 2014 09:19

I have been using MAC for ever with ALU.
The only thing is a few softwares (like PC Installer) will need a Windows OS.
For those situations, you simply use FUSION (http://store.vmware.com then select Products / Fusion) and run Windows.
It's flawless. You'll never go back to PC again.
Code Free Or Die

User avatar
frank
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 12671
Joined: 06 Jul 2004 00:18
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Apple MacBook Pro and Alcatel programs

Post by frank » 16 May 2014 09:21

I have been using MAC for ever with ALU.
The only thing is a few softwares (like PC Installer) will need a Windows OS.
For those situations, you simply use FUSION (http://store.vmware.com then select Products / Fusion) and run Windows.
It's flawless. You'll never go back to PC again.
Code Free Or Die

User avatar
frank
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 12671
Joined: 06 Jul 2004 00:18
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Apple MacBook Pro and Alcatel programs

Post by frank » 16 May 2014 09:22

I have been using MAC for ever with ALU.
The only thing is a few softwares (like PC Installer) will need a Windows OS.
For those situations, you simply use FUSION (http://store.vmware.com then select Products / Fusion) and run Windows.
It's flawless. You'll never go back to PC again.
Code Free Or Die

User avatar
tgn
Member
Posts: 780
Joined: 30 Dec 2009 17:59
Location: Germany

Re: Apple MacBook Pro and Alcatel programs

Post by tgn » 16 May 2014 10:00

One question frank. What about ALEDS? Will it work with VMware Fusion? It is the only thing for me, that does not work within a Virtualbox VM.

regards...
--- back to basics... focus your eyes to the essential things... ---

User avatar
frank
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 12671
Joined: 06 Jul 2004 00:18
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Apple MacBook Pro and Alcatel programs

Post by frank » 16 May 2014 10:17

hi

i did not try aled yet.
Code Free Or Die

Post Reply

Return to “Outside World”