Flash on os6850-u24x

Post Reply
aviviis
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 01 Feb 2018 16:19

Flash on os6850-u24x

Post by aviviis » 11 Mar 2018 13:41

Hi
Inside the os6850 there is compact flash at size of 64M , can i replace it to bigger one , 128M or 256M
Thanks

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 935
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: Flash on os6850-u24x

Post by devnull » 15 Mar 2018 05:31

This is afaik not supported

aviviis
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 01 Feb 2018 16:19

Re: Flaash on os6850-u24x

Post by aviviis » 16 Mar 2018 10:06

Hi
What do you mean afaik ?

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 935
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: Flash on os6850-u24x

Post by devnull » 19 Mar 2018 04:07

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=afaik

"as far as i know"

aviviis
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 01 Feb 2018 16:19

Re: Flash on os6850-u24x

Post by aviviis » 22 Mar 2018 15:16

Thanks

bengie5
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 22 Aug 2018 11:32

Re: Flash on os6850-u24x

Post by bengie5 » 26 Sep 2018 13:40

Hi Everyone,

I just wanted to share that I tried upgrading our os6850-u24x switch stack (4 switches in the stack) with additional flash and RAM.
I swapped the 64MB flash cards with 256MB flash cards and it worked properly, the system detected all 256MB.
The stack has been running without any errors for 4 weeks now.

I also tried upgrading RAM by swapping the 256MB RAM stick with a 512MB stick, the switch came up operational but it only detected 256MB.
The os6850-u24x seems incapable of addressing any more than 256MB of RAM.
I’m wondering if there any special configuration requirement to make the switch use all 512MB RAM .
I will appreciate if anyone could share their experience with this.

Thanks,

Ben

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6850 / 6850E”