configuring cisco 2960 to work with alcatel 4038

configuring cisco 2960 to work with alcatel 4038

Postby rilvis » Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:15 am

hello!
i'd like to know how do i can configure a phone 4038 alcatel to work like a switch with a cisco 2960 with two vlan's one for data and the other for voice.
On the switch cisco the port g0/9 is configured like this
switchport access vlan 737
switchport mode access

and the phone works well

if i configure it for data like this
switchport access vlan 700
switchport mode access

works well, too.

but if i can use it , the switch , plugging a pc on the phone with this configuraton below

switchport trunk allowed vlan 700,737
switchport voice vlan 737
switchport access vlan 700
switchport mode trunk

neither phone works nor the pc.

what is happenning?
Best regards, Thanks
rilvis
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:30 am

Re: configuring cisco 2960 to work with alcatel 4038

Postby tincho.rn » Tue Jun 16, 2009 6:05 pm

You have to configure the VLAN in the phone. The port configuration (trunk mode) is waiting for tagging packages. I recommend the following configuration: perhpas access mode with a tagged VLAN for IPTouch and a default untagged VLAN for the PC. Best regards.
ACSE R10
ACSE IP Advance
ACSE ICS R6
tincho.rn@gmail.com
tincho.rn
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
 
Posts: 928
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:40 am
Location: Argentina

Re: configuring cisco 2960 to work with alcatel 4038

Postby torrentula » Tue Jun 16, 2009 7:53 pm

you will want to use the "voice vlan" command for the vlan you want the 4038 to be on.

Then either hard code vlan on the phone using the LUI, or use AVA.
User avatar
torrentula
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
 
Posts: 814
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 11:05 am

Re: configuring cisco 2960 to work with alcatel 4038

Postby mirnix » Fri Aug 07, 2009 2:05 am

you have 3 possibilities:

1) both devices in the same vlan -> not advisable
2) using the voice vlan which is an cisco feature/behaivor
example:
interface gigabitEthernet 0/38
switchport mode access
switchport access vlan 700 #PC VLAN
switchport voice vlan 737 #Phone VLAN which is tagged

verify the setting
cat2#show interface gig 0/38 switchport
Name: Gi0/38
Switchport: Enabled
Administrative Mode: static access
Operational Mode: static access
Administrative Trunking Encapsulation: negotiate # port can negotiate as trunk if possible
Operational Trunking Encapsulation: native # no trunking currently
Negotiation of Trunking: Off
Access Mode VLAN: 700 (VLAN0700) # Access Vlan ID (untagged)
Trunking Native Mode VLAN: 1 (default)
Administrative Native VLAN tagging: enabled
Voice VLAN: 737 (VLAN0737) # Tagged voice vlan
*** Deleted rest of output

You have to configure the Phone for using the tagged Vlan ID 737.

3) configure the port as trunk

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q # to ensure 802.1q tagging
switchport mode trunk
switchport trunk allowed vlan 700,737
switchport trunk native vlan 700 # defines the untagged vlan

verify the port:
show interfaces gigabitEthernet 0/38 switchport
You have to configure the Phone for using the tagged Vlan ID 737.

Hope this help
mirnix
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 11:51 pm


Return to Beginner's questions about the Common Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: muhammad hadi and 1 guest

Creative Commons License
AlcatelUnleashed by AlcatelUnleashed is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at www.AlcatelUnleashed.com.
AlcatelUnleashed is NOT affiliated with or endorsed by Alcatel-Lucent.
Contact: info at alcatelunleashed.com
RSS FEED